Aussie Domination and India’s Boundary Woes: Jaw-Dropping Stats from the Cricket World Cup 2023 Final Revealed!”


Australia secured their sixth Men’s Cricket World Cup triumph by defeating India in front of a massive crowd of 92,453 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday. This marks Australia’s fifth World Cup title in the last seven editions since their golden era commenced in 1999.

The Australian men’s team now boasts a total of seven World Cup victories, with six in the One Day International (ODI) format and one in T20 cricket. This achievement places them three titles ahead of the next-best team, West Indies, who have four World Cups (two each in ODI and T20), but unfortunately didn’t qualify for the recent tournament in India.

This successful campaign adds to Australia’s exceptional year, which included a triumphant tour of India, victory in the 2023 World Test Championship, and retaining the Ashes in England. Additionally, the men’s team clinched the T20 World Cup in the UAE in 2021.

cricket word cup
image source- Cricbuzz

Australia’s cricket dominance extends beyond the men’s team; their women’s team also had a stellar year by winning the T20 World Cup in 2023 and the 50-over Cricket World Cup in 2022.

With a total of 41 World Cups in both ODI and T20 formats across men’s and women’s editions, Australia has emerged victorious in an impressive 20 of them. This tally is a remarkable 12 more titles than the second-best team.

Most title wins in Cricket World Cups 

Men’s T20 and WC WinsWomen’s T20 and WC WinsTotal
West Indies415
India 303
Sri Lanka202
New Zealand011

India’s men’s cricket team is once again facing criticism for a perceived lack of a killer instinct. In the period from 2007 to 2013, the team achieved significant success, securing three major ICC tournaments: the T20 Cricket World Cup in 2007, the 2011 ODI World Cup, and the Champions Trophy in 2013. However, since their last triumph in 2013, the team has struggled to clinch victory in 10 tournaments over the span of a decade. While they reached the knockout stage in nine of these tournaments, they fell short of crossing the finish line.

Despite an impressive record of losing only four out of 28 matches in the last three men’s ODI World Cups (2015, 2019, and 2023), India faced setbacks in crucial semi-finals and finals. Earlier this year, they experienced defeat in the World Test Championship final against Australia at The Oval. Additionally, they fell to eventual champions England in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup last year.

Despite holding the highest win percentage at major tournaments over the past 10 years (69.15%), India has not secured any titles. In contrast, Australia, with a slightly lower win percentage of 64.77%, has managed to clinch four titles, including two World Cups, one T20 World Cup, and the World Test Championship.

The current narrative surrounding India’s cricket team revolves around their inability to convert strong performances into championship victories, raising questions about their killer instinct in crucial moments.

Highest win percentage in Cricket World Cup, T20 WC, Champions Trophy, World Test Championship in last 10 years (Min: 50 matches)

Sri Lanka783241541.031
New Zealand774529358.441
South Africa754034153.330
West Indies622235535.481

Head wins Cricket World Cup for Australia

Australia faced a unique challenge in the Cricket World Cup, navigating half of the tournament with just 14 players due to Travis Head’s recovery from a left-hand fracture. However, the gamble proved worthwhile as Head showcased why he was worth the wait with a stellar performance in the final. His remarkable innings of 137 not only marked the fourth-highest score in a World Cup final but also played a pivotal role in Australia’s victory.

Head’s impact extended beyond his batting prowess. He took a sensational catch to dismiss the formidable Rohit Sharma, who was shaping up as a threat with a quick 41 off 31 balls. This catch proved to be the turning point that derailed India’s innings.

cricket world cup
image source- cricbuzz

Despite featuring in only six matches during the 2023 tournament, Head left an indelible mark by earning three player-of-the-match awards, notably in the crucial semi-final and final encounters.

In the broader context of Australian cricket, Head has emerged as a talisman throughout the year. Just six months prior, he played a decisive role by scoring a match-winning 163 in the World Test Championship final, also against India. Head’s consistent performances in both formats underline his importance to the Australian team and solidify his status as a key player in their success.

Highest scores in final of Men’s Cricket World Cup

Adam Gilchrist (AUS)149Sri LankaBridgetown2007
Ricky Ponting (AUS)140*IndiaJohannesburg2003
Viv Richards (WI)138*EnglandLord’s1979
Travis Head (AUS)137IndiaAhmedabad2023
Aravinda de Silva (SL)107*AustraliaLahore1996

India’s boundary drought in the final

Australia, typically a team favoring batting, threw a curveball on Sunday, marking the first instance since the 1975 final where they chose to bowl in a Cricket World Cup knockout match. In the preceding eight knockout clashes, Australia consistently chose to bat first after winning the toss.

Pat Cummins’ decision, deviating from the norm, proved astute. India, initially strong with 80 runs in the opening powerplay, struggled to find boundaries in overs 11-50, hitting only four. This marked their lowest boundary count since 2000 when they managed just seven against Sri Lanka in Sharjah.

Post the first powerplay, India faced a challenging stretch, going 97 consecutive balls without a boundary. Despite KL Rahul’s resilient 107-ball stay at the crease, he could muster just one four.

Examining the statistics, the 21st century has witnessed merely five instances of teams hitting four boundaries or less in overs 11-50 in a completed innings in One Day Internationals (ODIs). Australia’s bold departure from their usual strategy not only showcased adaptability but also proved pivotal in securing victory and rewriting the narrative of their knockout stage approach.

Also Read:- Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer’s Unexpected Exits in the India vs Australia World Cup Final 2023

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh