Brandon King Leads West Indies Against South Africa: A Look at the Squad and Expectations

Brandon King has been appointed as the interim captain of the West Indies team for their upcoming three-match T20I series against South Africa at home. This decision follows Rovman Powell’s unavailability due to his commitments in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Powell, along with several other players, is currently participating in the IPL. Players like Powell and Shimron Hetmyer represent the Rajasthan Royals, while Andre Russell and Sherfane Rutherford are part of the Kolkata Knight Riders squad. Additionally, Alzarri Joseph won’t be available for selection as Royal Challengers Bangalore, the team he plays for, has qualified for the playoffs.

Besides these five players, Cricket West Indies has decided to rest Shai Hope and Nicholas Pooran, even though they are not involved in the IPL playoffs. Shamar Joseph, who had a brief stint with the Lucknow Super Giants, has been included in the squad. He is set to make his T20I debut and has already been selected for the upcoming World Cup. Cricket West Indies has also confirmed that Joseph and Rutherford will be included in the squad if Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders fail to reach the IPL final.

“We haven’t played together as a team since the Australia series, but we just completed a very intense training camp in Antigua,” stated White Ball Head Coach Daren Sammy. “Now, we have the opportunity to integrate some of our players returning from the IPL and build momentum as a group heading into the World Cup.”

Roston Chase has been appointed as Brandon King’s deputy for this series. Chase led West Indies A in Nepal recently in the absence of King. The three T20I matches will take place at Sabina Park in Jamaica on May 23, 25, and 26.

Squad: Brandon King (C), Roston Chase, Alick Athanaze, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Mathew Forde, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh