ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table Cricbuzz

Overview of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC World Cup 2023 is all set to captivate fans as it kicks off in India on October 5. The opening match will feature defending champions England against New Zealand, promising an exciting start to the tournament.

This edition of the World Cup marks a significant moment in cricket history. The last three World Cups were all clinched by the hosting nations – India in 2011, Australia (co-hosted with New Zealand) in 2015, and England in 2019, setting the stage for an exhilarating competition in India.

ICC world cup 2023

ICC World Cup 2023: Venue Detail

Event NameICC World Cup 2023
Host CountryIndia
Match Format50 Overs
ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule5th October to 19th November 2023
Total Teams10 Teams
Total Matches48 Matches
Tournament FormatKnock Out
Name of TeamsAfghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan,  South Africa and Sri Lanka
Final Match LocationNarendra Modi Stadium
ICC World Cup Points Table 2023Check Below
Official ICC websitecricketworldcup.com
ICC World Cup 2023 Venue

Road to the Finals: Format and Semifinals

The World Cup will follow the same format as the previous edition, with ten teams battling it out in a round-robin style. After the round-robin stage, the top four teams will proceed to the semi-finals. The team that finishes first in the round-robin will face the fourth-placed team, while the second and third-placed teams will meet in the other semi-final. The ultimate showdown will occur on November 20.

Qualifying Teams and the Super League

The lineup of teams for the tournament was determined through a rigorous process. India qualified as hosts, and the next seven teams secured their positions based on their finishing positions in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, a three-year competition featuring 13 teams playing eight three-match bilateral series each.

New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa earned their spots in the Cricket World Cup through a top-eight finish in the Super League. The remaining five teams entered the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, competing alongside others from League 2 and the Qualifier Play-off tournament. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, who finished 10th and 13th respectively in the Super League, clinched their spots in Cricket World Cup 2023 solely through the Qualifier.

ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table

Name of the TeamMatches PlayedMatches WonLost TiedPointsNRR
New Zealand440o8+1.923
South Africa22004+2.040
Endgland 31202-0.084
Sri Lanka20200-1.161
World Cup 2023 Points Table

Cricketworldcup.com Points Table 2023

Interesting Facts: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Three-Peat Hosting Wins: The fact that the last three World Cups were all won by the hosting nations (India in 2011, Australia in 2015, and England in 2019) underscores the home advantage and makes the 2023 World Cup in India particularly exciting.

Historic Opener: Opener replicates 2019 final: England vs. New Zealand.

Changing Formats: The 2023 World Cup will be the last edition to use the round-robin format. The ICC plans to introduce a new format for the 2027 tournament, signifying a shift in how future World Cups will be organized.

Rivalry Matches: The match between India and Pakistan, scheduled for October 15, is expected to be a blockbuster encounter and is likely to draw significant attention from cricket fans worldwide due to the intense rivalry between the two teams.

Narendra Modi Stadium: The final match of the World Cup will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, known for its massive seating capacity, making it one of the world’s largest cricket stadiums.

Cricket Fever in India: The fact that the tournament is hosted in India, where cricket is a national passion, ensures that the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 will be a major celebration, both on and off the field.

England’s Title Defense: England will aim to defend their World Cup title in this edition. The pressure is on as they seek to maintain their championship status.


When and where will the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 take place?

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is scheduled to start on October 5 and will be held in India. The final match will be played on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Is the ICC planning to change the format for future World Cups?

Yes, the ICC is set to announce a new format for the 2027 edition, which will differ from the round-robin format used in the 2023 World Cup.

Which teams have historically excelled in recent World Cups?

The last three World Cups have been won by the hosting nations: India in 2011, Australia in 2015 (co-hosted with New Zealand), and England in 2019.

Who are the defending champions in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023?

England is the defending champion, having won the 2019 edition of the World Cup. They will aim to retain their title in this tournament.

How can fans watch the matches and stay updated on the World Cup?

Fans can watch the matches on various broadcasting networks and streaming platforms. They can also stay updated through official ICC channels, cricket news websites, and social media.

Leave a Comment

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh