IND vs AUS T20Is World Cup 2023, Australia updates T20 squad for India tour, six World Cup winners returning home

In a bid to reassess their T20 options and secure a turnaround in the five-game series against India, Australia has orchestrated significant changes to their squad. The move involves the departure of World Cup-winning stalwarts Steve Smith and Adam Zampa, both of whom have reportedly returned home ahead of the third match in Guwahati. The squad overhaul also sees the return of Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis, and Sean Abbott.

Stepping in as reinforcements are the dynamic ‘keeper-batter Josh Philippe and the powerful Ben McDermott. The duo has swiftly integrated into the squad, making them available for the third T20 encounter. Meanwhile, New South Wales’ Ben Dwarshuis and spinner Chris Green are set to join the team in Raipur before the fourth match.

A notable prospect on the horizon is Chris Green’s potential international debut in either Raipur or the series finale in Bengaluru. Recently appointed as the full-time captain for the Sydney Thunder, Green has built a robust T20 resume, participating in 190 matches across various leagues, including the IPL, Pakistan, Caribbean, the UK, and the Big Bash. His recent prowess for the NSW Blues in domestic one-day and first-class cricket has added to the anticipation surrounding his international debut.

The reshuffling of the squad was triggered by Marnus Labuschagne’s inclusion in Queensland’s Sheffield Shield squad, creating an opportunity for Ben McDermott to join the T20 squad in India. Additionally, Western Australia handed a first-class debut to Joel Curtis as Josh Philippe’s red-ball form experienced a downturn this season.

Travis Head stands as the sole representative from Australia’s triumphant World Cup squad still in India, accompanied by reserve player Tanveer Sangha. Despite his heroics in the ODI World Cup final, where he played a pivotal role in securing Australia’s sixth ODI crown with a match-winning century, Head has yet to feature in the ongoing T20 series.

ind vs aus T20i

Australia faces a critical juncture in the series, with the imperative to secure a victory in the third match to stay in contention after suffering defeats in the opening two encounters. In the series opener, Josh Inglis’s explosive 47-ball century powered Australia to 208, but India chased down the target with a two-wicket win. The second match saw India posting a formidable 235-4, restricting Australia to 191-9.

Steve Smith, confirmed to play in the Sydney Sixers’ opening match in the KFC BBL|13 before the Test series against Pakistan, had two innings as an opener in the T20 series, scoring 52 off 41 and 19 off 16. Stand-in head coach Andre Borovec expressed satisfaction with Smith’s intent at the top of the order, emphasizing the meticulous planning that went into experimenting with his role.

Looking ahead, Australia’s T20 campaign includes ten internationals, plus any potential warm-up matches, leading up to the T20 World Cup in the USA and the Caribbean next year. The ongoing series against India serves as a crucial testing ground for Australia to fine-tune their strategies and player combinations in preparation for the global tournament.

Australia’s strategic reshuffling of the T20 squad reflects a proactive approach to exploring options and building depth. The inclusion of new faces and the potential debut of Chris Green add intrigue to the series, as Australia seeks to bounce back and set the stage for a successful T20 World Cup campaign.

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott (withdrawn), Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (withdrawn), Glenn Maxwell (withdrawn), Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith (withdrawn), Marcus Stoinis (withdrawn), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa (withdrawn)

India T20 squad: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (last two matches only)

Also read:- Champions Trophy 2025 Hosting Rights Slipping Away from Pakistan? Hybrid Model Takeover Imminent, Insider Reports Suggest

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh