Suryakumar Yadav to Lead India in Australia T20Is

Suryakumar Yadav is set to lead the Indian cricket team in the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia, commencing in Visakhapatnam on November 23. VVS Laxman will take charge as the head coach for this series, culminating in Bangalore on December 3.

Schedule of Australia T20Is:

  • 1st T20I: November 23, Visakhapatnam
  • 2nd T20I: November 26, Thiruvananthapuram
  • 3rd T20I: November 28, Guwahati
  • 4th T20I: December 1, Raipur
  • 5th T20I: December 3, Bengaluru

Retaining most of the squad that played in Ireland, the team sees the absence of Jasprit Bumrah, who led the previous series and will be resting. Prasidh Krishna, a part of the World Cup squad, is included, while Hardik Pandya, recuperating from injury, is not considered. Axar Patel returns, having missed the ODI World Cup due to injury, replacing Shahbaz Ahmed. Ishan Kishan replaces Sanju Samson, who featured in the last T20I series in Ireland. Jitesh Sharma retains his spot in the squad.

The selectors contemplated appointing Shreyas Iyer as captain but opted against it due to his recent workload. However, Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.

Laxman’s appointment as coach was anticipated as Rahul Dravid, the designated India coach, is due for a break after an intense three-month tenure, technically ending with the World Cup. Dravid has yet to decide on his future plans, stating his current focus was solely on the World Cup campaign.

The squad for the series includes:

Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

ALSO READ: India vs Australia, Final – Australia Won By 6 Wkts, ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh