IND vs SA: KL Rahul to lead India in ODIs; Suryakumar in T20Is and Rohit Sharma in Test Matches

Cricbuzzteam, IND vs SA, On Thursday, November 30, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officially announced that KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav would lead India’s limited-overs squads during the upcoming tour to South Africa. The noteworthy absence of seasoned players Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli from both the ODI and T20I squads was explained by the board, clarifying that the duo had requested a break from the white-ball leg of the tour.

The ODI squad for the three-match series underwent significant alterations, featuring exclusions such as Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav, who was later appointed as one of the captains. The selectors introduced fresh faces, including Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Rajat Patidar, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and Sanju Samson. The bowling department saw the inclusion of Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Deepak Chahar, while key bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohammed Shami were given a break.

ind vs sa

However, the Test squad features the trio of premier pacers – Bumrah, Siraj, and Shami, with KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan assigned as designated wicketkeepers. KS Bharat takes the reins as the captain of the India A squads, shadowing the main team during their South Africa tour. Notably, with the return of Shreyas Iyer to full fitness and Ruturaj Gaikwad securing a spot, the selectors opted to exclude Ajinkya Rahane from the Test squad, and Cheteshwar Pujara was not considered. The BCCI also confirmed that Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment, and his availability for the Tests will hinge on his fitness.

In the T20I setup, Ravindra Jadeja makes a comeback and assumes the role of vice-captain for the series. Shubman Gill, who was rested from the ongoing series against Australia, is included in the squad, along with Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Siraj, as well as Deepak Chahar.

The much-anticipated tour is scheduled to commence on December 10 with the T20I series, followed by three ODIs. Subsequently, India will engage in a Boxing Day Test match against the hosts, starting on December 26, before concluding the tour with the second and final Test, commencing on January 3.

This strategic squad selection signifies a balance between experienced players and emerging talent, aligning with the team’s vision for the future. The absence of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli provides an opportunity for the younger players to showcase their skills and establish themselves in the international arena. The inclusion of fresh faces in the ODI squad and the return of key players in the T20I setup demonstrate the team management’s commitment to versatility and adaptability across formats.

The responsibility bestowed upon KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav to lead the limited-overs squads reflects their consistent performances and leadership qualities. With a mix of youth and experience, India aims to make a strong statement in South Africa, showcasing their depth and resilience in the face of challenges. As the cricketing world eagerly awaits this tour, the dynamics of the Indian team promise an exciting and competitive series ahead.

IND vs SA T20Is

1st T20I – December 10, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in Kingsmead, Durban

2nd T20I – December 12, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd T20I – December 14, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


1st ODI – December 17, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

2nd ODI – December 19, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd ODI – December 21, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in Boland Park, Paarl

IND vs SA Tests

1st Test – December 26-30, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in SuperSport Park, Centurion

2nd Test – January 3-7, 2024 at 2:00 PM IST in Newlands, Cape Town

India’s squad for 3 T20Is

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar

India’s squad for 2 Tests

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna

India’s squad for 3 ODIs

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar

Also Read:- Cricbuzz IND vs SA, India Tour of South Africa Series T20, ODI, Test Squad 2023 Schedule, India Squad, Venues, Upcoming Series

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh