India vs Australia Live Score, 1st T20I: Josh Inglis’ whirlwind ton helps AUS soar post 208/3

In the inaugural clash of the T20 series between India and Australia, an electrifying spectacle unfolded at Visakhapatnam. Suryakumar Yadav, leading the Indian squad for the first time, opted to bowl after winning the toss. Facing a rejuvenated Australian side that strategically rested key World Cup-winning players, India was determined to turn the tables after their ODI World Cup final setback.

Australia’s decision to rest stalwarts like Pat Cummins, Marnus Labuschagne, and Mitchell Starc did not dim the competitive spirit. Steve Smith, opening the batting, set a brisk pace before being halted at 52 off 41 balls. Ravi Bishnoi accounted for the wicket of Matthew Short, but it was Josh Inglis who stole the spotlight. Inglis unleashed a sensational innings, hammering a 50-ball 110 and equalling Aaron Finch’s record for the fastest T20I century by an Australian.

The partnership between Smith and Inglis saw a formidable 130-run stand off just 66 balls, propelling Australia to a commanding total of 208/3 in their 20 overs. Despite Mukesh Kumar’s impressive final over, conceding just five runs, the Indian bowlers faced a daunting task ahead.

India, missing star players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav Mohammed Siraj and R Ashwin had a revamped squad under Suryakumar Yadav’s leadership. Addressing the team ahead of the match, Yadav emphasized the importance of selflessness and prioritizing the team’s goals over personal milestones.

Australia, led by Matthew Wade, expressed excitement about the blend of experienced players and fresh faces. Adam Zampa, the second-highest wicket-taker in the World Cup, found a place in the lineup alongside Travis Head, Steve Smith, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoinis.

As the T20 series unfolds, the clash between this reshaped Indian squad and the strategically rested Australian champions promises an enthralling contest. The absence of familiar faces on both sides adds an element of unpredictability, setting the stage for an exciting battle between bat and ball in the upcoming matches.

Key highlights from IND vs AUS 1st T20I:

  • Suryakumar Yadav has won the toss and chosen to bowl first
  • This is the first time Suryakumar is captaining India
  • Josh Inglis led the Australian assault, smashing 110 in just 50 balls
  • Mukesh Kumar gave just five runs in the last over but Australia scored 208/3 in 20 overs
  • Australia have rested the World Cup winners in their group in Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa and Travis Head
IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh