ICC Cricket World Cup Final: Why is the golden bat given in the World Cup, who is the biggest contender in 2023?

The Cricket World Cup Final of 2023 promises not just cricketing brilliance but also a cascade of rewards for the team that emerges victorious. Beyond the crores of rupees in prize money, players have the chance to etch their names in history through prestigious awards like Player of the Match, Player of the Tournament, and the revered Golden Bat. This golden accolade is bestowed upon the player who amasses the most runs in the tournament, a symbol of batting prowess that resonates through generations.

The Golden Bat, akin to the Golden Ball in football, serves as a beacon of excellence in the cricketing world. It not only signifies individual achievement but also immortalizes a player’s contribution to the team’s success in the pinnacle event of ODI cricket. Over the twelve Cricket World Cup seasons held thus far, the Golden Bat has found its home in the hands of cricketing luminaries, each etching a unique chapter in the annals of the sport.

Which players got the golden bat in Cricket World Cup?

  • In 1975, New Zealand’s Glenn Turner won the Golden Bat by scoring 333 runs.
  • In 1979, West Indies’ Gordon Greenidge won the Golden Bat by scoring 253 runs.
  • In 1983, David Gower of England won the Golden Bat by scoring 384 runs.
  • In 1987, England’s Graham Gooch won the Golden Bat by scoring 471 runs.
  • In 1992, Martin Crowe of New Zealand won the Golden Bat by scoring 456 runs.
  • In 1996, India’s Sachin Tendulkar won the Golden Bat by scoring 523 runs.
  • In 1999, India’s Rahul Dravid won the Golden Bat by scoring 461 runs.
  • In 2003, India’s Sachin Tendulkar won the Golden Bat by scoring 673 runs.
  • In 2007, Australia’s Matthew Hayden won the Golden Bat by scoring 669 runs.
  • In 2011, Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka won the Golden Bat after scoring 500 runs.
  • In 2015, New Zealand’s Martin Guptill won the Golden Bat by scoring 547 runs.
  • In 2019, India’s Rohit Sharma won the Golden Bat by scoring 648 runs.

Virat Kohli leads in ODI Cricket World Cup 2023

cricket world cup

In 1975, New Zealand’s Glenn Turner claimed the inaugural Golden Bat with a total of 333 runs, setting the standard for generations to come. Subsequent years witnessed West Indies’ Gordon Greenidge, England’s David Gower, and New Zealand’s Martin Crowe adding their names to the illustrious list.

Sachin Tendulkar’s Dominance:

The ‘Little Master,’ Sachin Tendulkar, stands out in the Golden Bat narrative, clinching the award not once but twice. In 1996, he amassed 523 runs, and in 2003, he further solidified his legacy with an astonishing 673 runs. Tendulkar’s ability to consistently perform on the grandest stage attests to his unparalleled skill and resilience.

As the new millennium dawned, the Golden Bat found its way into the hands of other cricketing giants. Australia’s Matthew Hayden, Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan, and New Zealand’s Martin Guptill showcased their batting prowess and etched their names into the World Cup’s folklore.

cricket world cup

Rohit Sharma’s Brilliance in 2019:

In the most recent edition of the Cricket World Cup in 2019, India’s Rohit Sharma mesmerized cricket enthusiasts by accumulating a staggering 648 runs, securing the Golden Bat for himself. His sublime strokeplay and consistency were instrumental in India’s journey to the semi-finals, showcasing the impact a Golden Bat winner can have on a team’s fortunes.

Cricket World Cup 2023 Showdown

As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the climax of the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, all eyes are on the current frontrunners for the Golden Bat. India’s captain, Virat Kohli, has been a run-scoring machine throughout the tournament, amassing 710 runs. His ability to anchor the innings and play match-winning knocks has set him apart. No other player comes close to Kohli’s tally, making him the undisputed contender for the prestigious award.

In the bowling department, India’s Mohammed Shami has emerged as the leading wicket-taker with 26 scalps. However, Australia’s Adam Zampa is not far behind, with 22 wickets to his name. The final match will be the stage for these bowlers to showcase their skills and stake their claim for the coveted Golden Ball.

Also Read:- Rohit Sharma Unveils Thrilling Plans for India’s Playing XI in the ICC World Cup 2023 Final Against Australia! The Skipper’s Press Conference Highlights!

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh