David Warner Rested for T20I Series against India Post World Cup Triumph

David Warner, the standout performer at the ODI World Cup, will sit out the T20I series against India along with several other key players after their victorious campaign. Aaron Hardie has been brought into the squad for the opening match on Thursday.

In preparation for the home summer, where the first Test against Pakistan kicks off on December 14, Warner, alongside Pat Cummins, Joish Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Cameron Green, and Mitchell Marsh, will miss the upcoming T20I series.

David Warner exceptional World Cup display, amassing 535 runs at an average of 48.63, highlights his form. He aims to conclude his Test career during the Pakistan series, marking his retirement at the SCG in early January.

Adding depth to the T20I squad, Aaron Hardie, a Western Australia allrounder who debuted earlier this year in South Africa, has been included. Kane Richardson replaces Spencer Johnson, sidelined due to a hamstring injury.

Despite the short gap of four days after the ODI World Cup final, this series contributes to the build-up for next year’s T20 edition in the West Indies and the USA. Australia has six more T20Is scheduled before that tournament, featuring series against West Indies and New Zealand in February.

The T20I squad now comprises seven players from the World Cup and Tanveer Sangha, who served as a traveling reserve.

Matthew Wade will lead the team, although Marsh, who previously captained to a 3-0 victory against South Africa in September, stands as the frontrunner for the permanent role.During this series, Andre Borovec will take charge as the stand-in coach while Andrew McDonald heads home before the summer season.

series begins in Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

Australia’s T20I squad: Matthew Wade (capt), Travis Head, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis, Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Tanveer Sangha.

ASLO READ: India vs Australia T20 world Cup 2023, Squad, Fixture, Match Schedulem, Live Streaming & Venue

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh