India vs New Zealand Live Score Cricbuzz: ICC World Cup 2023, Chase master Kohli powers IND to four-wicket win, Shami impresses with fifer

India vs New Zealand Brief Scores:

New Zealand- 273/All Out in 50 Overs

India-274/6 in 48 Overs

India Won By 4 wickets in Dharamsala

In the 2023 World Cup, India showcased their supremacy by securing a thrilling four-wicket victory over New Zealand in Dharamsala, marking their fifth consecutive win in the tournament and catapulting them to the top of the ten-team points table.

Also Check: ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table Update

The Indian batting innings commenced strongly, with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill forging a 71-run partnership for the first wicket. However, Lockie Ferguson dismissed Rohit for 46 runs (off 40 balls), and shortly thereafter, Gill fell for 26 runs (off 31 balls). Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer then contributed 52 runs for the third wicket, but Trent Boult sent Iyer back to the pavilion after he scored 33 runs (off 29 balls).

KL Rahul joined Kohli at the crease, and the two built a 50-plus partnership before Rahul was dismissed by Mitchell Santner for 27 runs (off 35 balls). Suryakumar Yadav, making his World Cup debut, had a short stay in the middle due to a mix-up with Kohli. Meanwhile, Kohli remained firm at the other end, completing his half-century.

In the first innings, Mohammed Shami played a pivotal role in India’s recovery during the last ten overs, securing a five-wicket haul in his first match of the World Cup. New Zealand seemed poised to reach or even exceed 300 runs, thanks to Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra’s impressive 159-run partnership, which came in just 152 balls. Mitchell scored a monumental 130 runs in 127 balls, but New Zealand struggled in the final 10 overs, managing only 54 runs while losing six wickets.

Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first. India initially contained New Zealand’s scoring, with their seamers excelling in the first 10 overs. Mohammed Shami even claimed a wicket with his first ball of the match during this period. However, the absence of a sixth seamer, due to Hardik Pandya’s injury and Shardul Thakur being dropped, proved challenging as the New Zealand batsmen capitalized on spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja. Kuldeep conceded 32 runs in his first three overs, contrasting with the first 10 overs when the Indian seamers maintained pressure. Jadeja bowled ten overs on the trot, finishing with figures of 0/48.

The partnership between Ravindra and Mitchell surpassed 150 runs, and Mitchell’s drop by Bumrah at the boundary added to India’s woes. However, India’s fortunes changed in the 34th over when Shami dismissed Ravindra for 75 runs (off 87 balls). Kuldeep later dismissed New Zealand captain Tom Latham, and Mitchell continued to soldier on, eventually scoring his fifth ODI century. India mounted a comeback, and New Zealand was eventually bowled out for 273 runs.

India vs New Zealand Match Highlights

  • Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl, marking the fifth consecutive match in which India chose to chase.
  • Mohammed Siraj claimed the important wicket of Devon Conway early in the match, and Mohammed Shami dismissed Will Young with his first ball.
  • Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell applied pressure on India by attacking the spinners, particularly Kuldeep Yadav.
  • The partnership finally ended at 159 runs off 152 balls when Ravindra was dismissed for 73 runs.
  • Mitchell went on to score his fifth ODI century, but India managed to restrict New Zealand’s run flow in the latter part of their innings.

India vs New Zealand Player Of the Match

Mohammed Shami was named the Player of the Match for his five-wicket haul.

Kohli’s performance

In the final moments of the match, Virat Kohli, who had played a crucial role, missed out on a well-deserved century, as Matt Henry dismissed him for 95 runs. India completed the 274-run chase with two overs to spare, securing a four-wicket victory. This victory propelled India to the top of the points table in the World Cup.

Next Match: PAK vs AFG Match 22nd, Dream11 Prediction, World Cup 2023, Pitch and Weather Report, Who Will Win ?

Leave a Comment

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh