Stats – Glenn Maxwell’s Remarkable Century Leads the Way in Another T20I Chasing Triumph

Three weeks after his outstanding performance in Australia’s sixth World Cup win, Glenn Maxwell once again played brilliantly to lead Australia to their second-highest successful run-chase in T20Is.

Here are the key numbers from the third T20I between India and Australia in Guwahati on Tuesday (November 28):

India scored 200 or more runs in three consecutive T20Is, matching Nepal’s record in April 2021. India successfully chased 209 in the first T20I in Visakhapatnam and scored 235/4 and 222/3 in Thiruvananthapuram and Guwahati, respectively.

Australia successfully chased down 223, marking their second-highest successful run-chase in T20Is. This is also the highest successful chase against India in T20Is, surpassing South Africa’s 212 in Delhi last year. It’s the highest chase completed on the last ball of a T20I, beating Australia’s 205 against South Africa in Johannesburg in 2016.

Australia chased down 21 runs (23, including the winning shot) in the last over, setting a record for the highest target successfully chased down in the last over of a T20I. The previous record was 19 runs, held jointly by West Indies in the 2016 T20 World Cup final and Sri Lanka against Australia in Pallekele last year.

Australia has successfully chased 200 or more runs in Men’s T20Is four times, tying with South Africa for the second most in the format. India holds the record with five such chases, with the most recent one in Visakhapatnam last week.

Highest successful run-chases in T20Is

TargetTeamOpponentOversVenue, Year
259South AfricaWest Indies18.5Centurion, 2023
244AustraliaNew Zealand18.5Auckland, 2018
243BulgariaSerbia19.4Sofia, 2022
232West IndiesSouth Africa19.2Johannesburg, 2015
230EnglandSouth Africa19.4Mumbai WS, 2016
226BulgariaSerbia19.3Sofia, 2022
223EnglandSouth Africa19.1Centurion, 2020
223AustraliaIndia20Guwahati, 2023

Glenn Maxwell has hit four centuries in T20 International matches, sharing the record with Rohit Sharma. Others with three centuries include Babar Azam, Sabawoon Davizi, Colin Munro, and Suryakumar Yadav. Three of Maxwell’s centuries came when batting at No. 3 or below, tying the record with Suryakumar Yadav. Maxwell also holds the record for three T20I centuries in chases, sharing it with Babar Azam, Muhammad Waseem, and KL Rahul, who have two each.

Maxwell has scored two centuries against India, making him one of the top centurions against a single opponent in T20Is, alongside Leslie Dunbar (Serbia) against Bulgaria, Evin Lewis (West Indies) against India, and Muhammad Waseem (UAE) against Ireland.

It took Maxwell 47 balls to complete his century, making it one of the fastest for Australia in T20Is. It is also the second fastest against India, tied with Josh Inglis’ ton in Visakhapatnam last week, and just behind David Miller’s 46-ball century at the same venue last year. Earlier this season, Maxwell set the record for the fastest World Cup hundred, also the fastest for Australia in ODIs, against Netherlands in Delhi.

Fastest T20I hundreds for Australia (by balls taken)

Balls takenPlayerOpponentVenue, Year
47Aaron FinchEnglandSouthampton, 2013
47Josh InglisIndiaVisakhapatnam, 2023
47Glenn MaxwellIndiaGuwahati, 2023
49Glenn MaxwellSri LankaPallekele, 2016
50Glenn MaxwellIndiaBengaluru, 2019

Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade teamed up for an unbeaten partnership of 91 runs, making it the second-highest partnership for the sixth wicket or below in a successful T20 International run-chase. This partnership also stands as the third-highest for Australia in all T20 Internationals for the sixth wicket or below. The top two are 101* by Michael Hussey and Cameron White against Sri Lanka in 2010, and 92 by Marcus Stoinis and Daniel Sams against New Zealand in 2021

Highest partnerships for 6th wicket or below in a successful T20I chase

PartnershipPairForAgainstVenue, Year
115Tony Ura, Norman VanuaPNGSingaporeSingapore, 2022
91*Glenn Maxwell, Matthew WadeAustraliaIndiaGuwahati, 2023
86*Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah ZadranAfghanistanIrelandDehradun, 2019
82Afif Hossain, Mosaddek HossainBangladeshZimbabweMirpur, 2019

Prasidh Krishna gave away 68 runs in the match, making it the joint fifth-highest runs conceded by a bowler in a Men’s T20 International. This is also the highest for an Indian bowler in T20Is, surpassing the previous record held by Yuzvendra Chahal, who conceded 64 runs against South Africa in 2018. Additionally, Aaron Hardie’s bowling figures of 1/64 in his four-over spell are the joint most expensive for Australia in T20Is, sharing the record with Andrew Tye’s 2/64 against New Zealand in 2018.

Most expensive returns in Men’s T20Is

Bowling returnsBowlerForAgainstVenue, Year
0/75Kasun RajithaSri LankaAustraliaAdelaide, 2019
1/72Chris SoleScotlandNew ZealandEdinburgh, 2022
1/70Tunahan TuranTurkeyCzech RepublicIlfov County, 2019
0/69Barry McCarthyIrelandAfghanistanGreater Noida, 2017
1/68Kyle AbbottSouth AfricaWest IndiesJohannesburg, 2015
0/68Prasidh KrishnaIndiaAustraliaGuwahati, 2023

Highest individual scores in a losing cause in T20Is

RunsPlayerForAgainstVenue, Year
124*Shane WatsonAustraliaIndiaSydney, 2016
123*Ruturaj GaikwadIndiaAustraliaGuwahati, 2023
122Babar HayatHong KongOmanFatullah, 2016
119Faf du PlessisSouth AfricaWest IndiesJohannesburg, 2015
118Johnson CharlesWest IndiesSouth AfricaCenturion, 2023

Highest partnerships for 2nd wicket or below for India in T20Is

PartnershipPairWicketOpponentVenue, Year
176Deepak Hooda & Sanju Samson2ndIrelandDublin, 2022
141*Ruturaj Gaikwad & Tilak Varma4thAustraliaGuwahati, 2023
138Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli2ndSouth AfricaDharamsala, 2015
134Virat Kohli & Suresh Raina3rdAustraliaAdelaide, 2016
130Shikhar Dhawan & Rishabh Pant3rdWest IndiesChennai, 2018

Batters with 50-plus runs in the last three overs of a Men’s T20I innings

Runs scoredBatterForAgainstVenue, Year
56*(16)JP KotzeNamibiaBotswanaWindhoek, 2019
54*(14)David MillerSouth AfricaBangladeshPotchefstroom, 2017
54(14)Yuvraj SinghIndiaEnglandDurban, 2007
52* (10)Dipendra Singh AireeNepalMongoliaHangzhou, 2023
52*(13)Ruturaj GaikwadIndiaAustraliaGuwahati, 2023
50*(15)Dasun ShanakaSri LankaIndiaPune, 2023

Also read:- Maxwell massacre downs Ruturaj masterclass in Guwahati

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh