Maxwell massacre downs Ruturaj masterclass in Guwahati

Maxwell Heroics Overshadows Gaikwad’s Ton in Thrilling Chase

In a nail-biting encounter held in Guwahati on Tuesday, November 28, Australia managed to snatch a close victory from India, chasing down a mammoth total of 223 with just a ball to spare. Glenn Maxwell, the swashbuckling all-rounder, emerged as the hero of the day, smashing a whirlwind 104 not out to guide his team to victory. His innings overshadowed a remarkable maiden T20I century from Ruturaj Gaikwad, who had earlier propelled India to a commanding position.

Australia’s Early Breakthroughs

Australia, opting to bowl first, made a strong start, dismissing both Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ishan Kishan within the first six overs. Jason Behrendorff accounted for Jaiswal, while Kane Richardson sent Kishan packing. These early wickets provided the visitors with the momentum they needed.

Ruturaj-Suryakumar Rebuild

With the score at 23/2, Ruturaj Gaikwad and skipper Suryakumar Yadav steadied the ship for India. They forged a solid partnership of 57 runs, with Suryakumar playing the aggressor and Ruturaj providing stability. Their partnership helped India recover from the early setbacks and build a strong foundation for the middle and late overs.

Suryakumar’s Wicket and Ruturaj’s Onslaught

Just when the Indian innings was looking ominous, Australia struck back with Suryakumar’s wicket. Hardie, bowling his second spell, dismissed the Indian captain with a soft dismissal, providing the visitors with some respite. However, Ruturaj, undeterred by the loss of his partner, shifted gears and launched a blistering counterattack.

Ruturaj’s Maiden T20I Century

Ruturaj, who had been relatively quiet until Suryakumar’s dismissal, exploded in the latter stages of the innings. He plundered 101 runs off just 35 balls, smashing 13 fours and seven sixes. His innings was the cornerstone of India’s formidable total of 222/3 in their allotted 20 overs.

Maxwell Magic Seals the Chase

Chasing a challenging target of 223, Australia got off to a brisk start, thanks to an aggressive innings from Travis Head. However, India fought back with regular wickets, putting the pressure back on the visitors. With the asking rate climbing steadily, Maxwell stepped up to the plate.

Maxwell’s Final-Over Heroics

In a remarkable display of power-hitting, Maxwell clobbered 104 runs off just 51 balls, his innings laced with 10 fours and six sixes. He kept Australia in the hunt throughout his stay at the crease and ensured that the chase remained alive until the final over.

Australia’s Dramatic Win

The final over was a roller coaster ride, with India desperately trying to defend their slender lead. Prasidh Krishna, bowling the penultimate over, conceded 22 runs, including a crucial no-ball that allowed Maxwell to take control. With 21 needed off the last over, Maxwell smashed a six and three fours to seal an exhilarating victory for Australia.

Brief scores: India 222/3 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 123*, Suryakumar Yadav 39, Tilak Varma 31*) lost to Australia 225/5 in 20 overs (Glenn Maxwell 104*, Travis Head 35, Matthew Wade 28*) by five wickets.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup Winners – Complete List from 2007 to 2023

Leave a Comment

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh