Cricbuzz IPL 2024 Auction: Final List of PBKS Players Released, Retained, and Purse Available After Retention Day

In the IPL 2024 PBKS decided to keep Sam Curran in their squad despite rumors of releasing him. However, they chose not to retain Shahrukh Khan, a domestic talent who won’t be part of the team for the upcoming season.

IPL 2024 Auction PBKS

As cricket aficionados nationwide recover from India’s recent World Cup loss, attention turns swiftly to the imminent Indian Premier League (IPL) season. Teams have meticulously deliberated on which players to retain and release ahead of the IPL 2024 auction in December.

Punjab Kings (PBKS), still in pursuit of their maiden IPL title, underwent significant changes in coaching and captaincy ahead of the previous season. Despite these adjustments, their performance remained middling, securing only 6 victories out of 14 matches and failing to reach the playoffs. While PBKS possesses a decent core of players, their quest to establish a formidable side hinges on the forthcoming auctions, where astute spending is pivotal.

IPL 2024 Players Released

The BCCI facilitated player exchanges through the “TRADE” mechanism in IPL 2023, allowing franchises to swap or acquire players via cash transactions. Released players from the IPL 2024 roster now have the chance to join other teams through the auction, adhering to IPL regulations of a maximum squad size of 25 players, including 8 foreign players, with 4 overseas players in the Playing XI.

IPL 2024 Auction Date and Venue

The IPL 2024 Auction is set to happen in Dubai on December 19, according to the BCCI. Teams must submit their lists of released and retained players by November 26. This auction will span a full day and notably marks the first time it’s being held outside the country.

List of PBKS Players Released Ahead of IPL 2024 Auction

PBKS made pivotal decisions in releasing players deemed underwhelming in their performances. The list of released PBKS players includes:

  1. Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  2. Mohit Rathee
  3. Baltej Dhanda
  4. Shahrukh Khan
  5. Raj Angad Bawa

List of PBKS Players Retained Ahead of IPL 2024 Auction

PBKS opted to keep Shikhar Dhawan, an experienced player, along with a good group of Indian talents like Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar, Prabhsimran Singh, and Jitesh Sharma. The team also maintained their trust in most of their foreign players. Here’s the final list of retained players for PBKS:

  1. Shikhar Dhawan (Captain)
  2. Prabhsimran Singh (wicketkeeper)
  3. Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper)
  4. Arshdeep Singh
  5. Gurnoor Singh Brar
  6. Nathan Ellis
  7. Harpreet Brar
  8. Rahul Chahar
  9. Kagiso Rabada
  10. Liam Livingstone
  11. Atharva Taide
  12. Sikandar Raza
  13. Harpreet Bhatia
  14. Vidwath Kaverappa
  15. Shivam Singh
  16. Matthew Short
  17. Rishi Dhawan
  18. Sam Curran
  19. Jonny Bairstow

IPL 2024 Teams Purse Value

Heading into the IPL 2024 auction, PBKS holds a purse of INR 24.1 crores with six available slots, including one overseas spot. Despite setbacks and an unsettled squad, PBKS possesses a substantial budget, offering them a prime opportunity to strategically revamp their team dynamics through shrewd player acquisitions.


The spotlight now rests on PBKS as they navigate the auction, aiming to address past shortcomings and build a squad capable of mounting a formidable challenge in the upcoming IPL season.

ALSO CHECK: IPL 2024 Auction: Final List of Gujarat Titans (GT) Players Released, Retained, and Purse Available After Retention Day

JioCinema Live Streaming IPL 2024:

Cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipate the Indian Premier League (IPL) T20, a high-octane cricket league in India, known for its thrilling matches and top-tier talent. The upcoming IPL 2024 season, commencing from 31st March, promises unparalleled excitement and entertainment for cricket aficionados. One of the key platforms providing live streaming for this extravaganza is JioCinema, ensuring that fans don’t miss a moment of the action.

IPL 2024 Schedule and Teams

Set to kick off on 31st March 2024, IPL 2024 will witness gripping matches hosted across various stadiums in India. The league comprises 10 powerhouse teams, including CSK, MI, RCB, RR, KKR, DC, SRH, LSG, GT, and PBKS, intensifying the competition and captivating the audience.

Leave a Comment

IPL 2024 Auction: Top 10 Buys Player Which Team Buy whose Player you need to know all IPL 2024 : Shreyas Iyer back as KKR captain IPL 2023 Most Run: Ranking the Top 10 Batsmen Who Dominated the Season Six Teams Poised to Battle it Out for Mustafizur Rahman in the IPL 2024 Auction Happy Birthday, Yuvi! 5 Memorable Performances by Yuvraj Singh